American Samoa

American Samoa

American Samoa, Samoan: Amerika Sāmoa, additionally Amelika Sāmoa or Sāmoa Amelika) is a unincorporated domain of the United States situated in the South Pacific Ocean, southeast of Samoa. Its area is revolved around 14.2710° S, 170.1322° W. It is on the eastern outskirt of the International Date Line, while autonomous Samoa is west of it.

American Samoa comprises of five fundamental islands and two coral atolls. The biggest and most crowded island is Tutuila, with the Manuʻa Islands, Rose Atoll, and Swains Island additionally incorporated into the domain. All islands with the exception of Swains Island are a piece of the Samoan Islands, found west of the Cook Islands, north of Tonga, and about 300 miles (500 km) south of Tokelau. Toward the west are the islands of the Wallis and Futuna gathering.

The present populace of American Samoa is roughly 55,689 individuals. A large portion of them are “nationals however not residents of the United States during childbirth”. Most American Samoans are bilingual and can communicate in English and Samoan fluidly. Samoan is a similar language spoken in neighboring autonomous Samoa.

The all out land territory is 199 square kilometers (76.8 sq mi), marginally more than Washington, D.C. American Samoa is the southernmost domain of the United States and one of two U.S. regions south of the Equator, alongside the uninhabited Jarvis Island. Fish items are the primary fares, and the principle exchanging accomplice is the United States.

Amid the 1918 influenza pandemic, Governor John Martin Poyer isolated the domain, and on account of his activities, American Samoa was one of only a handful couple of spots on the planet where no influenza related passings happened.

American Samoa is noted for having the most elevated rate of military enrollment of any U.S. state or region. As of September 9, 2014, the nearby U.S. Armed force enrolling station in Pago was positioned first underway out of the 885 Army selecting stations and focuses under the United States Army Recruiting Command, which incorporates the 50 expresses, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, the Marshall Islands, South Korea, Japan, and Europe.

You May Also Like

About the Author: admin